Visualizing the Latest Wave of N.C.A.A. Conference Realignment

by Pelican Press
136 views 3 minutes read

Air Force FalconsAkron ZipsAlabama Crimson TideAppalachian State MountaineersArizona WildcatsArizona State Sun DevilsArkansas RazorbacksArkansas State Red WolvesArmy Black KnightsAuburn TigersBall State CardinalsBaylor BearsBoise State BroncosBoston College EaglesBowling Green State FalconsBrigham Young CougarsBrown BearsBuffalo BullsCal State Fullerton TitansCal State Los Angeles Golden EaglesCalifornia Golden BearsCalifornia-Santa Barbara GauchosCentral Michigan ChippewasCharlotte 49ersChattanooga MocsCincinnati BearcatsClemson TigersCoastal Carolina ChanticleersColorado BuffaloesColorado State RamsColumbia LionsConnecticut HuskiesCornell Big RedDartmouth Big GreenDavidson WildcatsDrake BulldogsDuke Blue DevilsEast Carolina PiratesEast Tennessee State BuccaneersEastern Michigan EaglesFlorida GatorsFlorida Atlantic OwlsFlorida International Golden PanthersFlorida State SeminolesFresno State BulldogsFurman PaladinsGeorge Washington ColonialsGeorgia BulldogsGeorgia Southern EaglesGeorgia State PanthersGeorgia Tech Yellow JacketsHarvard CrimsonHawaii Rainbow WarriorsHouston CougarsIdaho VandalsIllinois Fighting IlliniIllinois State RedbirdsIndiana HoosiersIndiana State SycamoresIowa HawkeyesIowa State CyclonesJacksonville State GamecocksJames Madison DukesKansas JayhawksKansas State WildcatsKent State Golden FlashesKentucky WildcatsLSU Fighting TigersLiberty FlamesLong Beach State Forty NinersLouisiana Ragin’ CajunsLouisiana Tech BulldogsLouisiana-Monroe WarhawksLouisville CardinalsMarshall Thundering HerdMaryland TerrapinsMassachusetts MinutemenMemphis TigersMiami (FL) HurricanesMiami (OH) RedHawksMichigan WolverinesMichigan State SpartansMiddle Tennessee State Blue RaidersMinnesota Golden GophersMississippi State BulldogsMissouri TigersNavy MidshipmenNebraska CornhuskersNevada Wolf PackNevada-Las Vegas RebelsNew Mexico LobosNew Mexico State AggiesNorth Carolina Tar HeelsNorth Carolina State WolfpackNorth Texas Mean GreenNorthern Illinois HuskiesNorthwestern WildcatsNotre Dame Fighting IrishOhio BobcatsOhio State BuckeyesOklahoma SoonersOklahoma State CowboysOld Dominion MonarchsOle Miss RebelsOregon DucksOregon State BeaversPacific TigersPenn State Nittany LionsPennsylvania QuakersPitt PanthersPrinceton TigersPurdue BoilermakersRice OwlsRichmond SpidersRutgers Scarlet KnightsSMU MustangsSam Houston State BearkatsSan Diego State AztecsSan Jose State SpartansSouth Alabama JaguarsSouth Carolina GamecocksSouth Florida BullsSouthern Illinois SalukisSouthern Mississippi Golden EaglesStanford CardinalSyracuse OrangeTemple OwlsTennessee VolunteersTexas LonghornsTexas A&M AggiesTexas Christian Horned FrogsTexas State BobcatsTexas Tech Red RaidersThe Citadel BulldogsToledo RocketsTroy TrojansTulane Green WaveTulsa Golden HurricaneU.C.L.A. BruinsU.S.C. TrojansUAB BlazersUCF KnightsUTEP MinersUTSA RoadrunnersUtah UtesUtah State AggiesVanderbilt CommodoresVirginia CavaliersVirginia Military Institute KeydetsVirginia Tech HokiesWake Forest Demon DeaconsWashington HuskiesWashington State CougarsWest Texas State BuffaloesWest Virginia MountaineersWestern Carolina CatamountsWestern Kentucky HilltoppersWestern Michigan BroncosWichita State ShockersWilliam & Mary TribeWisconsin BadgersWyoming CowboysYale Bulldogs

The most recent wave of realignment has effectively ended the Pac-12, with most of its colleges moving to the Big Ten, Big 12 and A.C.C.

Notre Dame, college football’s most popular independent program, joined the A.C.C. for an average of five games per year starting in 2014.

Missouri and Texas A&M were the first teams to join the SEC in 20 years.

Financial benefits and concerns about conference stability lured Boston College to become the A.C.C.’s 12th member in 2005.

Boise State left for the Mountain West in 2010. Three years later, the WAC folded.

A Supreme Court ruling in 1984 let universities and conferences negotiate their own television deals. ESPN aired its first live regular-season game that fall.

Penn State, one of the last major programs to remain independent, became the Big Ten’s 11th member in 1993, setting off a wave of realignment across college football.

The Ivy League joined Div. 1-AA.

The Southern Conference reclassified to Div. 1-AA after the 1981 season.

Arizona and Arizona State made the Pac-8 the Pac-10.

The Missouri Valley Conference stopped sponsoring football after the 1985 season.

Arkansas departed for the SEC in 1991, signaling the beginning of the end for the Southwest Conference, long associated with N.C.A.A. violations.

Formed as a basketball-only conference, the Big East began playing football in part to stay competitive.

Source link

Leave a Comment

You may also like